I HATE THE SCALE.

22 Feb

I never liked weighing myself.

That daily/weekly routine has always been a very stressful chore for me.
Although, I know that its how you know if you’re keeping yourself on the right track,
but it impedes my progress more than anything else.
It makes me go crazy if i haven’t lost any weight, haven’t lost enough,
or even at times, gain some.
Psychologically, i would get obsessed with how much i weigh on the scale.
I do it on a weekly basis so
For the entire week, i would work so hard just to see that number on the scale fall.
And if that number doesn’t meet my expectation,
i Freak. Big Time.
Next, i proceed to the stage of self-reflection.
(Just a nice way of saying it)
I could choose to convince myself that, you know what,
maybe your body is still getting used to the change,
maybe you need to give your body more time,
or maybe your muscles haven’t developed enough to be burning calories at a peak rate.
But instead, i would beat myself up over it and be so depressed and just blame it on Me.

I must too lazy,
I must be too greedy,
I must be not working hard enough, (I clock 20km a week)

I become the most angry, the most unhappy person.



I am not big enough to lose alot of weight, but i expect myself to lose alot!


It affects me, and it also affects the people around me.
I refuse to eat,
then the rational part of me says i should.
So i don’t know if i should be plain stupid and starve myself, but i would be feel guilty if i ate, and end up eating alot
Blah Blah Blah
and that internal struggle continues.
You know how we just don’t listen to the advice that we are capable of giving others?
I would jolly well explain to someone logically why, if they told me their weight wasn’t changing.
But we just demand so much More for ourselves,
For me at least.
It came a point when I was so sickened by how much the scale affected me.
I slapped myself awake and just thought how silly i was.
So i decided to just

Chuck it.
I haven’t weighed myself since the 27th of December and i must say
it was definitely a good decision.
I keep track of my progress using a measuring tape instead.
So i gauge the number of inches i have lost.
I am the sort of person who is hyped about everything that is fitness/health related.
But the weighing scale is probably not one of my favourite.
I am not saying that you shouldn’t too,
but it is just knowing yourself, and knowing whats best for you.
The scale and rational thinking can never go hand in hand for me.

♥x, S.L
2 Responses to “I HATE THE SCALE.”

  1. Mary (A Merry Life) April 14, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    >I'm so glad you shared this link with me! This was a really great post for me to read right now while I'm trying to give up the scale for good. Thank you! 🙂

  2. Shinna April 21, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    >No problem Mary!We inspire each other! :)Keep up the good work, can't wait to see you achieve your fitness goals.XO

Leave a Reply

